Skip to content

California in my rear view mirror.

September 17, 2012

At long last.  Oregon.  Sounds so good just to say thy name: Oregon.   Even has one less syllable to make it go down easier.

California does not give up without a fight.  I leave Seiad Valley just outside the fire closure line. Smoke and Technicolor sunrises/sets are my constant companions. Seems like I’m going up and down continually for no apparent reason.

Things are clearly changing. Not just the trees but all the ground plants are looking more like my adoptive Portland based reference woodlands. That is until you go around the corner and the scene switches back temporarily to when-will-it-ever-end California.

No matter what the map so emphatically promises, CA just seems to just go on and on. There are no geological, historical or otherwise cool points between here and the border. CA has only one job to do, and that is to be over.

I’m making pretty good mileage, often in the 22 – 25 miles range. It is definitely getting dark earlier, and I am definitely not getting up any earlier in spite of my best intentions. I’m walking later into the dark. One night I hit water and a good campsite after 20 miles. But it’s still 45 minutes till dark. I push on, Oregon here I come.

It’s a long gentle canyon that seems to go on. For sure it goes on past dark. I’m doing the no flash light dance until I finally top out. It’s in the trees and dark dark. Steep downhill to follow, so it’s either flash light up from here or camp. I hunt around in circles for awhile and dig in.

Up and out early the next morning. Fresh and moving downhill. In 45 minutes I’m back at the water spot, a distance that cost me an hour and a half the night before. In the daylight I walked out of camp in the wrong direction. Come on CA, give me a break.

And then seemingly out of nowhere, in a nondescript turn in the trail is a point where it is assumed a line first described by words then by pen corresponds to the dirt on the ground. I linger, take pictures and write in the journal before I cross over.

I step over deliberately, just once. No back and forth for me. First California, now Oregon, then North.

Just a mile or so to a road junction where I’ll camp. Along the way I meet a guy looking for his son, Bouncer, who must be just behind me. Seems Bouncer’s Mom and Dad, sometimes with a much younger but perhaps traditionally named Bouncer sectioned hiked OR and WA years ago. Bouncer, now 19, is thru hiking, with the family following along this section with a camper.

I camp by the road junction and it is cold. Still no tent. That is my first real impression of Oregon, cold.

At some point Bouncer shows up and I hear all the hooping and hollering from the other side of the bushes. At one point I hear: “At last I get my husband back!”. I’m not sure if Bouncer is married or this refers to the obsessed Dad.

A day or so later I do 26.2 miles, a personal best. I’m in Ashland. And this is Oregon for real. And for the not so real.

Some scenes from the trail:

image
In my haste to catch the ride out of town I broke one of my cardinal rules: “Always dump your change”. Here I leave the leftover quarters from the Laundromat at camp.

image
Smoke highlights the 3-D nature of my universe. Fortunately the air is clearer at higher elevations.

image
I pass through an active logging site. Here are some locals waiting for that great one way trip of a lifetime.

image
How do you spell “Understated “?

image
Suddenly it does not seem as far as yesterday.

image
One last look back and then goodbye, California.

image
First water in Oregon. A spring right out of the rocks, piped for easy access, wild flowers and honey bees. Right on the trail. Perfect.

Don’t let this little piece of aqua heaven fool you, as it did me. The next 200 miles of Oregon were drier than any stretch in CA. More on that later.

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. Anthony B. permalink

    WooHoo! Grats man!

  2. Russell permalink

    26.2 miles. Is it safe?

  3. Kimlou permalink

    Sounds like the smoke around Sisters is pretty bad. Glad that is behind you – as well as California. Starting to get pretty cold in the morning………..brrrrrrrrrrr – you may need to start with the tent again.

  4. Josh permalink

    Impressive as always Joe. Reading about your daily encounters and perseverance is the best

  5. Awesome! Its in fact remarkable article, I have got much clear idea regarding from this post.

  6. This is the perfect website for anybody who would like to understand this topic.
    You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a new spin on a topic that’s been written about for a long time. Great stuff, just excellent!

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

    • There are many “free” blogs. All come with a pitch for an upgrade path and a variety of strengths and weaknesses. Just write, things will happen.

  8. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity
    for your submit is just excellent and i could suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to seize your feed to stay up to date with imminent post. Thank you one million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  9. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and
    tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  10. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this web
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  11. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is
    an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  12. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

Leave a comment