Skip to content

Racing Against the Clock

September 30, 2012

The last thing posted here related to crossing into Oregon, now I’m only a few moments away from stepping onto Washington’s volcanic soil.  Simultaneously a high and low point in this adventure.

I’m looking at Washington as the last hurdle.  Just one little 500 mile or so sprint.  Excited to have the end goal in site.  Today we packed the last food bag and ripped the last page out of the guide book. Two days rest, reconfigured my gear, gained back 6 pounds, got my feet tuned up and I’m raring to go.

Got off the trail in Cascade Locks, Oregon. When I get back on, the first few steps will put me on the Bridge of the Gods and over the Columbia River. At 235 feet above sea level, this is the trails lowest elevation.

The only dark clouds on the horizon are the dark clouds on the horizon. I think it’s going to come down to a race with the calendar. It’s all up the Snow Gods now. On my end, I’m now packing a heavier tent and some serious new rain gear. I’m not giving up without a fight.

Lots of good stories coming out of Oregon. Mile for mile it was more beautiful in general than California. Flatter and faster as well. 20 miles per day was pretty much the average. But the mornings were cold and the days getting shorter. Town stops were further apart and in general I tried to get in and out as fast as I could. Hence no time to write. But don’t think I haven’t been thinking of you gentle readers.

I’ve meet so many characters. The mushroom hunter, the plumber, a Nick Manwell clone and an elk just to name a few. Spent most of the time in Alpine meadows, where Spring and Fall occur almost simultaneously and Summer as we know it just does not exist. Crossed four snowfields in one day. Something I thought was both well behind me and way in the future.

So much to share, as good to hear as it is to share. A few choices for you, gentle readers. Either check back here from time to time, drop me a line via comments, or come out and meet me on the trail.

Only 29 trail days left. Then what?

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. If you get to Snowgrass flat in Goat Rocks and want to camp, do not camp there. go off the trail about 200 – 300 uphill yards to the north and a little east, and there’s a wonderful, secluded campsite near the west side base of Old Snowy.

  2. Janet G. permalink

    Very glad to see you’re still out there. Hope the snow gods are on your side, and have fun whatever happens.

  3. Jason permalink

    Hello Joe! I live near the Gorge and thought how cool it would be to run into you on one of my short hikes, no such luck. I have a quick question. Are you type 1 diabetic and on an insulin pump? I am, and thought I read you mentioned it?

    • Yes, a Type 1, but I don’t use a pump. I have a continuous glucose meter, but it is troublesome. AC1 was 7.7 last time I was in town.

  4. John E. permalink

    While discussing why we do not need a new mop head and the removal of my wife’s volcano of clothes from our bedroom I contemplate my trail time in Mammoth last week; yet Joe Barbera is crossing into Washington on his way to Canada! Cheers to a life well lived Joe!

  5. Robert B. permalink

    Glad to see you’ve made it to Washington, congrats Joe, that’s quite a feat (or is it feet?) in itself. With a self described trail name of Yeti, I’d be careful if I was you going through Indian Heavan. While a beautiful place, there are locales the indigenous peoples avoided because of a creature they called Sasquatch, places like Deep Lake, and Cultus Lake (right on the PCT). Maybe you should shave before you get there? 🙂 Enjoy the last miles.

  6. Matthew Brennan permalink

    Wow almost done!
    You do this for everyone that knows you.
    “No I never hiked the Pacific Crest Trail but I know Joe Barbera and he did!”

  7. Mickey Park permalink

    I will be in your town on Oct 26. Will call you to see if we can meet.
    Do not speed up on your hike. I am back in the states and we will have another chance to meet.

  8. Mickey Park permalink

    My new cell number is 201 655 4134.

  9. McKinley permalink

    You can do it!!

  10. Deb Vilhauer permalink

    You must have time, as you walk to think about this year’s Halloween Costume. Wondering too, what the closest point will be for you to Seattle.

  11. Josh permalink

    Completing the PCT with diabetes. A great message. Thank you, Joe!

  12. Mary Jo Gilbert permalink

    Appalachian Trail? (um, I doubt you remember me I worked with you at HP eons ago) Happy Trails!

Leave a comment