Skip to content

“…death to hikers…”

March 17, 2012

The weather advisory actually included those words in a warning about a severe storm hitting So. Cal. this weekend.  “Snow down to 2,000 feet, 24″ of snow above 6,000 feet, 75mph winds…”  Blah, blah blah.  Why “death to hikers”?  It’s like their saying “this means you, stupid”.

It’s Friday night, less than 12 hours before departure.  I have not yet begun to pack my pack, organize the bounce box, etc.  But I got most of the stuff around the house complete.  How can you prepare to be gone for 5 months?  The answer is: “you just can’t do enough”.

I’ve been doing so much around the house, etc, that I have not been able to go on a single overnight hike.  I did however sleep on the front lawn twice.  That has pretty much been the extent of my training.  Got a cool spreadsheet that has everything recorded down to the 1/10th of an ounce, however.

Just tried to check in on line for my flight, but for some reason I do not have one.  So I’m buying a one way ticket for a flight in less than 12 hours, and carrying only a backpack.  Think that will raise any security flags?

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Paul D permalink

    Have Fun, the snow will melt sometime! Envious and wishing you a safe trip, we will try to keep track of you on this site. Mike and Paul D.

  2. Janet Grossman permalink

    All the best, Joe. I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you the whole way and hoping you do better than I did on the thru-hike plan. The main thing of course is to be safe and to enjoy it all, however far you actually go. I know you’re prepared for the weather, so enjoy whatever it does too. Janet

  3. McKinley permalink

    http://www.accuweather.com/en/us/whitewater-ca/92282/weather-warnings/2178891?unit=c

    “deadly for unprepared campers or hikers” …of course, that’s not you.

    i hope you’ve gotten onto a plane by now. i love you, be safe!

  4. Deb Vilhauer permalink

    I’d say that if you have a cool spreadsheet & the well-wishes of your lovely daughter (see other commentator’s remarks) then you are good to go. See you on the other side (uh, that would be the northern end-of-the-line. Love to you & your legs.

  5. You go bro,
    What an adventure. I can only imagine what it must feel like. Keep the blog up and take a lot of pics for us common folk.

    Cheers,
    Pwelco

  6. mark thorn permalink

    Have a great time… I am jealous, mark

  7. Dan Lander permalink

    Hi Joe,
    I can’t imagine you with out a “you stupid” or the raising of security flags.

    Enjoy,
    Dan

  8. Sleeping out on your lawn the spreadsheet comment cracked me up. Be safe and enjoy. I look forward to your adventurous posts.

  9. Wow! Good luck, Joe!

  10. I was about to call you to let you know that I am moving back to US. Now, you are going hiking for how many months? By the time you come back home, I should be back in NY again.
    BTW, have fun and enjoy the journey unlikely anybody has experienced before. Don’t forget that safe trip is the #1 priority, my friend.

    Mick

  11. Don permalink

    Joe,

    You truly are an insiration. My goal is to walk 5 miles a day so that maybe just perchance I can walk with you on th trail when I pick you up for the camp out. To be able to do that I would need to drop at least 50 Lbs. Good luck.

  12. Bud Furber permalink

    Joe, normal warnings and limits don’t seem to apply to you. It sounds like your training has been consistent with your past exploits so I think that you’re well prepared! Good luck and I look forward to following along (vicariously) on your journey north.

  13. Bud Furber permalink

    Joe, normal warnings and limits don’t seem to apply to you. It sounds like your training has been consistent with your past exploits so I think that you’re well prepared! Good luck and I look forward to following along on your journey north.

Leave a comment